The 7 Best Vegan Options at Sonic Drive-In

Sonic is a classic American fast food restaurant, established in 1953 in Oklahoma. They have since expanded massively and now have over 3,400 locations across the United States. Since it’s Veganuary we wondered if there was anything suitable for vegans?

Take a Look ↓↓↓

Sonic is not the best pitstop for hungry vegans. They do not offer a vegan burger, but there are some sides that serve as a very fulfilling snack. Of course, you could always try to make your own vegan burger from some bread with burger toppings and condiments. 

Corn chips

Who doesn’t love the humble corn chip? Try pairing them with some chopped avocado and salsa de Sonic for a simplified version of nachos. You can even get some grilled onions to top the nachos off!

French fries

Unlike at McDonalds, Sonic’s french fries are vegan! The only thing to be aware of is the cooking method. All Sonic locations cook their fries in vegetable oil, making them suitable for vegans. Some Sonic locations may cook their fries in the same oil as meat and dairy products.

Most vegans tend to be okay with this, as no animals are harmed in the process of getting the oil and you are not increasing the meat supply chain demand. However, there is a risk of cross-contamination occurring so if you are vegan due to allergy reasons, we would recommend checking with your local branch before ordering.

Some vegans will not eat products cooked in the same oil as animal products or by-products. This may be because they do not agree, are worried about cross-contamination, or may even be able to taste the meat. All opinions are equally as valid, and this is one of those vegan grey areas. At the end of the day, it comes down to a matter of personal choice. 

Tater tots

Normal and sweet potato tater tots are both vegan at Sonic Drive-In. They go perfectly with all of the classic Sonic sauces and are incredibly satisfying. 

Onion rings

It is so hard to find onion rings that are suitable for vegans, and it’s like gold dust when we come across them. The onion rings are made without milk, making them suitable for vegans! Again, there may be risks of cross-contamination due to the frying oil, but we highly recommend them.


A lot of Sonic’s breads are naturally vegan and you can order them without a second thought. These options include bagels, Philly rolls, soft pretzel twists which are vegan at all branches of Sonic. 

Some of Sonic’s other breads are purchased from local bakeries, meaning that the recipes are likely to vary slightly. This opens the risk of cross-contamination and means that there is no guarantee of consistency between branches. If you fancy a hamburger bun, hot dog bun, Texas toast, or tortilla, you should check with the staff in-store.


So if you’re in a pickle and can’t find any food stops apart from Sonic, how can you create a satisfying meal? Our suggestion is to fill a bread roll with some of the burger toppings. We know it’s not the most satisfying meal, but hey, you gotta do what you gotta do.

Savory toppings available at all Sonic restaurants include dill pickle chips, jalapenos, lettuce, diced onions, and tomato. Combine these with some onion rings or fries to bulk out your sandwich a little more!

Some Sonic locations will also have avocado, dill pickle spears, Hatch green chiles, sauerkraut, and Sport peppers. In our opinion, you can never go wrong with a little sauerkraut!

Sonic also offers some sweet options, although admittedly there is not much you can do but eat these alone. Nevertheless, the options available are peanut butter or strawberry topping sauces, lemon, lime, fresh sliced banana, and Maraschino cherries. Some locations will also have pecans available, one of the best nuts around.

Sonic’s Tree Top applesauce and mint sauce are vegan too. 


There are a massive number of condiments available at Sonic. Most of these are vegan and can safely be consumed without concern. All branches should stock tomato ketchup, mustard, BBQ sauce, lemon juice, marinara, salsa de SONIC, and sweet relish.

There are more sauces sold at Sonic, but not in all branches. These are Asian sweet chili sauce, celery salt, hickory BBQ sauce, and sweet and sour sauce.

If you have a sweet tooth, Sonic also offers grape jelly, lemon juice, strawberry jam, and syrup.


The slush base used by Sonic is vegan, meaning that you can safely consume these drinks! The lemonade and limeade slushies are certified vegan, for a refreshing taste on a warm day.

There are a number of flavor syrups for drinks that have a vegan certification. These are blackberry, blue coconut, blue raspberry, cherry, diet cherry, french vanilla, grape, mango, peach, and raspberry. Really, the world is your oyster for drinks at Sonic! 

What’s our order of choice?

It’s hard to pass up on vegan onion rings, or tater tots for that matter. We’d get small orders of each with some BBQ sauce and ketchup. A classic order some might say. 

While you can make your own sandwich with bread and a random assortment of toppings, we do not often go for this. Tater tots are infinitely more satisfying than bread and vegetables will ever be!

We always top our order off with a slush, the limeade one is *chef’s kiss*!

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Sonic have a veggie burger? 

In some Sonic locations, they might offer to make vegetarians a veggie burger alternative. Whilst they don’t technically sell a veggie burger in every store, most stores will make a custom veggie burger if you ask. 

However, some Sonic stores will have a veggie burger, but the majority of the time you will have to ask for a custom one. 

The locations of the stores will offer different options for their make-do “veggie” burgers. You will be asked to choose the type of bread, which can vary from a hamburger bun to a hotdog bun. These buns are not vegan as they may contain egg and dairy products. 

The vegetables they have to offer to create your own burger include lettuce, avocado, jalapenos, tomato, dried onion, dill pickle chips, hatch green chiles, and some others. 

You will then have a choice of vegetarian-friendly sauces and condiments, such as sweet chili sauce, ketchup, mustard, Hickory BBQ, salt and pepper, and celery salt. You can also choose the Buffalo sauce, tartar sauce, or the Signature Sauce, but these do contain egg which isn’t vegan-friendly. 

Does Sonic have impossible burger? 

Unfortunately, Sonic does not currently offer the vegan impossible burger. 

However, there are some vegan options to choose from. Some Sonic stores offer a veggie burger, but this is likely to contain egg or dairy products. If you want a vegan sandwich or burger, most Sonic stores will offer to make a custom one for you. 

You can choose between a variety of foods including dill pickle chips, avocado, lettuce, tomatoes, jalapenos, and more. There are some vegan sauces and condiments available, just make sure to avoid the Buffalo sauce, tartar sauce, and the Signature sauce as these contain egg. 

Also, there are few vegan bread options. The hamburger, hot dog roll, Texas toast, and tortilla may contain traces of egg and dairy. The Philly roll and bagel, however, are vegan. 

Follow Us
Cassie brings decades of experience to the Kitchen Community. She is a noted chef and avid gardener. Her new book "Healthy Eating Through the Garden" will be released shortly. When not writing or speaking about food and gardens Cassie can be found puttering around farmer's markets and greenhouses looking for the next great idea.
Cassie Marshall
Follow Us
Latest posts by Cassie Marshall (see all)